The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 40

User Info Menu

Hi, guys!

First of all, I`m really happy I`ve found this place, `cause there is a real problem to find forum for jazz guitar players on Russian internet (I'm from Russia). So, I`m here.

I have been playing the guitar for almost 20 years and at the moment I stick to jazz, learning jazz standards, comping, chords and so on. But my biggest passion is chord-melody. I`ve got a lot of books about the topic and I`ve watched tonnes of videos, but I`m still struggling to figure out:

When I`m playing chord-melody arrangement, has the melody note to be 'a part' of appropriate chord?

For instance, I`m playing E note from the melody, and I harmonize it by Gmaj7, let`s say. Do I have to find a form of Gmaj7 that has E at the top of it (In this case I have to remember sort of at least 7 forms of each chord that has all 7 notes at the top), or I can just find some usefull fingering of Gmaj7 so I could get the E note on 1-2nd strings?

I hope you`ve understood my thought, and I really hope you can clarify it for me.

Regards.
    Last edited by blackraven; 06-21-2016 at 07:29 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Thanks, KirkP!
    I had a look on it. The guy is amazing. He`s really more a piano player than a guitar player.
    Last night I tried to make a chord melody arrangement for "The Shadow Of Your Smile" and I figured out, that`s it`s... how to put it... not hard (at least as you have an alogorythm) but you can`t play a chord melody for a new standard "at once": you have to write it down, you have to figure out the best chord voicing (for you)) and remember it (Jesus! so many voicings have to learn and remember!!!))