The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 60 of 60

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ameetnsharma
    I really like the way Joe Pass plays solo jazz guitar. He gets everything in there together, walking bass, single line, chords...

What other players have done solo jazz arrangements like this?

Thanks for any recommendations.
    I don't think I saw anybody mention George Van Epps or Johnny Smith

both are awesome. their records used to be very hard to get, but now everything is out there on line.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm an older guitarist who became strongly influenced to devote myself completely to solo jazz guitar because of the work of Joe Pass. He was an incredible talent and a very creative individual.

From him I learned many things, such as:

There is a liberating freedom in solo work,
    anyone can play solo, if one approaches it in the right ways,
    even a limited repertoire can provide a wealth of learning, tune-by-tune,
    overcoming fear of performance is an obstacle that must be faced,
    there are identifiable levels of mastery of repertoire that become apparent after a while,
    etcetera.

Ron V
    CT USA

User Info Menu

I started playing during the folk scare of the early 60s, but quickly gravitated to classical guitar for the sound, so never had the hesitation to play solo, since that's the bulk of classical guitar work, which in a restaurant or background music setting really lends itself to standard tunes and arrangements of pop tunes. The guitar is a great solo instrument, but with only the plectrum, there are serious limits to reaching the potential of the instruments polyphony and independent voices, which may be why solo jazz guitar is not common. In any case, using hybrid picking will really open up the possibilities, not to take anything away from Johnny Smith.

User Info Menu