The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18
    Hi fellow guitar lovers. So, as title says, how do you learn fingerstyle jazz guitar?
    First, I'm not a beginner, I play classical guitar at about grade 8, also some fingerstyle. I make fingerstyle arrangements of pop tunes and even compose a little, but when I hear something like this:

I'm totally overwhelmed. I mean I could learn these pieces by score or even by ear with some effort, but how can I make such style my own? I want to arrange, compose and improvise like this.
    As I said I do make arrangements, but I rely on my ear almost completely so if I arrange for example traditional tune it goes like this - I learn melody and play it with chords that just sound good to me (not necessarily the ones that supposed to be in original). And though it sounds nice, I think I don't really understand what I am doing. And even though I know classical music theory, what jazz musicians do looks like a magic to me. I've tried reading some jazz books, but they jump to complex things immediately and I don't know what to do with this information of how to use it.
    Sorry for such a random outburst, but can anyone please point me to the right direction?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

My distillation from the limited knowledge I have is this:

Many of the hall of fame players were essentially self taught. They jumped into the pool or ran out on the playing field and just got after it. Their aptitude and drive allowed them to later mix and learn from others players as peers or sometimes as protege and mentor like Lee Morgan and Dizzy but the work is and was largely done on their own.

Monk nailed it when he said something or other about a genius being most like himself.