The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

I would like to build a cord melody from the sheet music..I can't seem to
    find it..Can anyone tell me where to look?....Thanks...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's in both the old and new real book volume 3

User Info Menu

Thanks, I just found it in Real book 3...

User Info Menu

Does anyone have a chord melody pdf for "Emily"? Thanks so much.

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Thanks, dot357! That's a good start. I'm new to this chord melody stuff, but maybe I could practice trying to figure one out based on what you shared...

User Info Menu

Yeah, thats a nice clear version..Trying to analize this a little..I see the
    first four bars are in Cmaj.I-vi-ii-V....The next four bars has that F# and
    Bb..ok didn't take me long to get lost...What key are we on the second four bars?...

User Info Menu

The version out of the Aebersold book is a bit more straightahead.

The F#13 you're seeing is a tritone sub.

Here's the vanilla changes:

C |Am7 |Dm7 |G7 |C |C7 |F |Fm7/Bb |

A |F#m7 |Bm7 |Bm7/E |Am7 |D7 |Dm7 |G7+ |

C |Am7 |Dm7 |G7 |C |Gm7/C |F |E7(b9) |

Am7 /B7+ |Em7 |A7 |Dm7 |G7 |Bb7 |A7 A7/G|

F#m7(b5) /Fm7 |Em7 |A7 |Dm7 |G7 |C |Dm7/G ||

In the second four, you start in C, the C7>F takes you into F Major, the Fm7/Bb (or Bb7sus4) is being using as bii7 into the key of A in bar 9. Four bars in the key of A, the Am7>D7 is a ii/V in the key of G, the Dm7/G7+ is a ii/V into the key of C.

That covers the first half of the tune. Take a look and see if you can decipher the second half.

User Info Menu

Thanks, GodinFan.

User Info Menu

Anyone have bead on the lyrics?

User Info Menu

Lyrics, I got:

Writer(s): Johnny Mercer - Johnny Mandel

Emily, Emily, Emily
    Has the murmuring sound of May
    All silver bells, coral shells, carousels
    And the laughter of children at play

Say Emily, Emily, Emily