The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

Hello!, so im fairly new to jazz, i know all my drop voicing's of all my 7th chords, can sight read at a decent level, etc etc but chord melody seems beyond me right now, im trying very hard and i came up with an okay one for my 'my favorite things', but it just doesnt sound as jazzy as i'd like, if anybody can give me some tips that would be wonderful!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The best jazz chord melodies ever written were by Joe Pass (imo ofc). So listen to him, copy him. After a while, you will be able to create your own chord melodies using the same techniques he did. It's really that simple, but it will take you years and years. I've been practicing a couple Joe Pass chord melodies for about 6 years now and I'm finally able to create my own that sound like Joe Pass.

I've also been playing fingerstyle almost exclusively for over 20 years & have spent about the last 13 years working on classical guitar pieces <----and those both have helped my chord melody playing immensely.
    Last edited by Guitarzen; 12-04-2012 at 09:28 PM.

User Info Menu

Sounding jazzy doesn't have to come from the arrangement; you can sound jazzy playing the corniest arrangement if your time and feel are right. Similarly, someone with the hippest arrangement can ruin it by playing un-jazzy.

I tend to create chord melody (or solo guitar arrangements) by looking for lines under the melody. Then I use chords that contain the line and the melody note(s), OR just play the line and the melody if it doesn't call for chords (or if I can't find any good ones).

You're right that using drop-2 or drop-3 voicings will not produce a very interesting arrangement; however, you can use pieces of those voicings, which goes a long way to adding variety to the texture.

User Info Menu