The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

Hello,

I'm posting for the first time. I'm from the Chicago Land area.

I have been playing guitar for 40 years, not a musician just a person who likes to play guitar.

I have started my first chord melody from the Barry Galbraith series. The song title is, "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face". I like the melody and chords. I feel like I did when I started learning chords. Any time I hit a chord that does not sound clear, I play the phrase over until I get it right.

I'm actually working on three chord melodies, "When Sunny Get's Blue", "Tenderly", and "I've Grown Accutomed to Her Face". I switch from one to the other, when I hit a speed bump. It works for me, I don't get bored and I'm making progress.

I used to play guitar for an hour a week. I play everyday now, as therapy. The chords and single note playing prevents stiff joints, in my left arm and hand.

I have a variety of guitars, but for chord melodies I use the Epiphone Dot Deluxe. It's a good player. I use a Champ 5F1 clone, which in my estimation is a great bedroom guitar amp and has excellent tone.

Michael

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Welcome, Michael.

User Info Menu

Hard to do better than that, Michael. Enjoy!

User Info Menu

When I started on cord melodys, I also used Barrys arrangements...You will get to the point where you will want to do your own arrangements ..
    The satisfaction level is much higher...

User Info Menu

welcome oldman...

I've been at it for 53 years...play everyday too...just changed my strings the other day after some time...I am on my 4th set of thomastic GB .014s...flatwound...

I enjoy chordmelody since I started playing the charlie byrd style on my classical years ago...now favor my 1977 Ibanez 2355 (175) through Polytone Mini Brute...