The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Just curious: do any of you play chord melody on an acoustic guitar? If so, which make and model? Do cedar or spruce tops sound better for chord melody (way too general a question, I know)?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I like to play jazz on a Taylor with a spruce top - then again, I like to play anything on that guitar!

User Info Menu

I play jazz (and thereby chord melody) on anything I pick up--it's what I play.

As far as non archtop acoustics go, I jazz it better on smaller bodied guitars--more balance less boom. I love doing chord melody on my Larrivee Parlor, which is a 12 fretter and no cutaway! To me, the same wood type of on two different guitars can sound different, so I don't put too much stock into that--let your ears decide...

User Info Menu

I just started playing Jazz again on my Martin and love it, but it has no cutaway so gets to be a hassle for me. Chord melody on my Martin sounds real nice, clear, full sound, comfortable neck.

I've been looking for nice acoustic with cut-away that doesn't cost too much. I got to try an Eastman acoustic and that was nice. Taylor or Martin would be great expect for the price. Has anyone tried any of the Ibanez or Takamine's in the $1000 range how are they???

Mr. B. I like the idea of the parlor guitar that would nice to have a smaller body. To me bigger body is just for volume.

User Info Menu

I use a Taylor 714ce. Sounds great. I use pretty heavy gauge strings and tune down 1/2 step for extra fullness.

User Info Menu

Docbop... because I like inducing GAS...

I agree with Mr. B on the body size.

I play on a Larivee LV-03. It's spruce with a cut away and electronics. the body style is a little smaller than a dreadnought. Honestly I can't imagine playing jazz (or anything else now) on a dreadnought.

I didn't purchase it to play jazz though.