The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

So obviously at a music shop, but most places aren't going to have a big assortment of neck profiles and if they do, It's not like they'd have each guitar tagged with the different neck profiles. I am asking because I plan to order a custom guitar within next year. If all else fails, I am going to go with the thick C (the martin performance artist one). But as a classical guitarist I am curious to know what a D and a U would feel like on a smaller neck width. I'd also like to know what a slim U and a slim D would feel like. I primarily do keep my thumb behind the neck, but with some voicings while doing walking bass, I do have to rise above the width of the neck. Which is why I'd like to know what a d and u would feel like on a smaller neck width. It is also worth noting that I do have a bit smaller hands but at the same time am a stickler for technique. I know this seems like a pretty sporadic question but wouldn't want to miss a chance on what could be the perfect neck for Raquel.

Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks in advance
    -Raquel

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

A music shop I used to frequent was staffed by knowledgeable people who could actually point to a guitar with a particular neck profile, so that would be key: finding a (large) shop with people who know their stuff. Good question.

User Info Menu

Check out all the strats and Teles, the different models have different neck shapes. I think the Ultra is a D.

Play everything you can and write down the models you like. When you order your custom guitar tell the builder what you like and don't like. If possible take a guitar that you do like with you - a good builder can measure the neck profile and make templates off of that.