The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Yesterday was an interesting experience.
    For the first time I replaced a wiring harness and pickups by myself.
    Not on a Tele, LP or Strat. Or something sensible with a rear access plate.
    Not a hollow body with a nice large aperture left by top mounted pickups,

But a semi hollow. A 335 may have been an easier first go but no- we own a 339. The 14” baby sister of the 335.

that’s right- first attempt to rewire a harness and do pickups at the same time on the most congested room possible.

so yeah I feel like I graduated into something.

Best tip I can give- the right tools will save your sanity. I used a music stand light (mighty light) to fit inside the the f-hole to illuminate the cavity. A dental mirror to look around and assess with good light- and an 8” pair of skinny spring closed (squeeze to open) tweezers. Without these it would have taken 2 days and a lot of frustration.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Would I do it again- sure.
    what would I do different next time?
    1/ insulate the braid out side of the pickups if not already so. I found when fully assembled the braid would sometimes touch the signal side of the selector switch and dump all signal to ground. I used electrical tape this time rather than disassemble/ reassemble.
    2/ CTS pots are sometimes taller than stock. They come with a locknut and star washer. I saw a tip where the height got established outside the guitar (a 335) and they suggested a spot of cca glue to hold it and the washer in place before insertion. First Check your pot can still fit through the f-hole this way. Mine did not. I had to scrape all the superglue off and try again. It is a Chinese puzzle to get it to fit in as is. Putting on the locknut and starwheel once inside was not that hard anyway. I could have shaved an hour had I known.