The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

I'm looking for an 8 string archtop / Jazzbox / Gibson 175 clone to convert to a 6 string. I am 6'6" with giant hands and long fingers to match.

I have such a beast in Strat. It's great!

Eastman makes a 7 string archtop, and it's in the running. But I've yet to find an 8 string. The Eastman will produce am E to E @ the bridge of 60.5 mm (roughly 2 3/8"). This might be fine. My giant Strat is a whopping 72 mm (2 3/4 @ the bridge). I'd need an 8 string "donor guitar" for that.

A 2.125" (2 1/8") nut is desired; the Eastman has that. So an 8 > 7 string for "donor guitar" is for fanning.

I can go to a luthier and pay 5K+ and wait a year. I'm new to guitar (sax since Nixon, keys since Woodstock). I'd like to avoid the luthier if possible, for both reasons.

Thanks!

- Jeff Newton p/k/a Saxophone Tall.

PS - I posted this in the general "guitars, amps" area, but perhaps this is a better spot?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Ibanez makes (or made?) some 7-string archtops that might be closer in sound to a 175 than the Eastman would. Don't know if you can still get them or not, but you might be able to find a used one.

Ibanez AFJ957 7-String Archtop Review - Premier Guitar

Ibanez Artcore Expressionist AFJ957 7-String Hollowbody | Reverb

Ibanez AAF207 7-String Archtop Electric Sunburst, 1997 | www.12fret.com

User Info Menu

Then again, there's always this bad boy.

James D’ Aquisto New Yorker 7-string | David Hurley | Reverb

User Info Menu

You're essentially looking for a very wide fingerboard 6 string? Or am I misunderstanding you completely? Do you WANT two extra tuners? Why not have one built by Yunzhi, or Mr Wu, or any of the Chinese custom shops? They'll build to spec, with the materials you want.