The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi guys, new to this forum. I'm a bass guitar luthier and want to build my first archtop guitar. I've had the Benedetto book and videos for years now and it's time to finally build one.

I'm going to base my build on the 15" Benedetto Bambino. My questions are related to what I couldn't find in the book or videos lol. I'd like to install two humbuckers with two knobs and switch directly into the body like most semi-acoustics do. I've been trawling the net to figure out how to brace the carved top for supporting the pickups and finally fell on some photos from the Bambino page. Refer to photos below...

My questions; I can see from the way Benedetto braces his Bambinos that it looks like the 5 transverse braces seem to support a particular area. The 4 closest to neck appear to be placed about 6mm from the side of each pickups. The 5th brace I can't figure out, it seems too close to the tail end to be under the bridge for extra support. Does anyone know where that 5th is placed and why?

Also are the pickup rings only screwed directly into the top or would the 4 first transverse braces be there for actually having a spot where to screw in the rings?

Lastly I'd like my jack to be on the side of the body with the three holes for pots near the bottom f-hole. How much wood should I glue at the hole locations to strengthen the top and side? (if at all) i.e. wood thickness, grain direction etc..

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Also notice there appears to be a block from the brace under the bridge to the back, in the last photo. This is a semi-hollow guitar, functionally.