The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hello!

TL;DR - How can I find a luthier or anyone really to learn from whether it's making guitars or violins or mandolins. I just want to learn how to use these hands to create. I don't have any experience with wood working though.

[The Long Version:]
    For the first few years playing guitar I just thought every guitar was the same. I didn't know the difference between guitar bodies or anything. I basically went 7 years just playing whatever I could get my hands on.

Then I joined the military and I had actual money to spend and I needed a new guitar as I donated my previous ones to friends who wanted to learn guitar. The first guitar I got was a big baby taylor. It had a solid top with laminate sides and back. I was astonished by how beautiful it was. By how different it seemed from any other dreadnoughts I had ever played. I And then I started learning about different body types of acoustic guitars, different woods and qualities, different companies who made guitars differently. I began to read their stories and discover their methods. Watch documentaries about their factories. I got my first solid wood guitar about 6 months after that. Different body shape. An OM. I got it because I wanted to feel the difference in build, to smell the wood (one of my favorite parts, really), and to just admire the piece of work. Needless to say, it was the best guitar I had ever played. Not at first, no. I didn't hate it. But the more I played it, the more I searched for the sound that those woods created, the more I wanted to know more. So began watching luthier documentaries and reading a lot about luthiery. And then I got my first archtop. It's not the best quality. I've seen better quality in other guitars. Even though it's solid wood, has a pretty nice sound, even sounds great plugged in I knew I needed to feel something better. I spend a lot of time looking at the guit