The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

Do you guys set up you own guitars? If so, how did you go about learning how to do it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Set up/repair DVDs from StewMac.

User Info Menu

I do my own, and I learned by doing it. It ain't rocket science.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by sgosnell
    Same here, but there are lots of good videos on YouTube these days for reference.

User Info Menu

Yabbut, YouTube didn't exist when I started learning. I actually learned a good bit by watching my father, back about 60 years ago. I didn't actually use it for a few years after, but I think it was better than a video. The thing about YouTube videos is that anyone with a computer, or even a phone, can post anything. Not every video ever posted can be fully trusted to be accurate in every detail.

User Info Menu

No YouTube when I learned either. It was all trial and error for me. I wouldn’t recommend trusting any random video, but there are many done by great professional luthiers out there.

User Info Menu

check out the old school repairman dan erlewines books

The Guitar Player Repair Guide ...and/or.... How to Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!: The Electric Guitar Owner's Manual

he's affiliated with stewart /macdonald music supply...he's got many great vids up as well

a real treasure..wish the info was in one book form when i was startin!!..tho i read dans guitar player column very early on!!

cheers

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ThatRhythmMan
    No YouTube when I learned either. It was all trial and error for me. I wouldn’t recommend trusting any random video, but there are many done by great professional luthiers out there.