The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

My son has an airbrush which he normally uses to spray his model planes and i'm going to finish a custom made pickguard made of curly maple with it. I have no experience at all with spraying and need to know if i can apply it directly onto the wood and how many layers of (clear) nitro lacquer i need to spray. Also what the approximate waiting/drying time would be in between applying the layers.
    Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Well, until a professional chips in...I've done some nitro refinishing on a couple of guitars, using both spray and brush ( yes, you read that right,,brush). The short answer is that it will depend how absorbent your wood is, but usually 6-8 coats is enough. As you know, you sand nearly all of the nitro off, between coats and when finally wet sanding it, so most of the nitro goes to fill the grain anyway.

I started using a brush after having read that Daniel Slaman sometimes brushes on the nitro in the earlier coats - it works fine, for clear and solid finishes .You could try brushing on 3 coats, then wet sanding it, and then putting on the final coats with the airbrush ( which does take some practice, it's not as easy as it seems). Stewmac microgrits are excellent for the final wet rubbing out.

One thing I would not do is use an aerosol can, sometimes the nitro has far too much plasticiser in it, giving a sticky finish.

That's what I do, but let's see what the pros say..I could be doing it all wrong

User Info Menu

WEAR A GOOD QUALITY MASK and eye protection!

How about just rubbing on Danish Tru Oil? French Polish is much safer and therapeutic to apply.

Nitro can be rubbed on, I am sure. Brushing it on is a lot better than spraying when you don't have the proper mask.

User Info Menu