The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 29 of 29

User Info Menu

I was a GC tech at one of the most heavily frequented stores in the North East US. I came in as a fully trained and certified luthier with Fender, Martin, Taylor qualified repair skills. I agree with mcontour that the pay is insulting, but I didn't have an issue with that; I did get healthcare.
    I will say we had the reputation of being a really reliable GC tech shop and I'd done much more beyond the list of normal repairs (Nobody else in the system would do a neck re-set on a Gibson. We did. With perfect satisfaction) but I will say that a lot of people brought in repairs done from other GC stores and I was appalled at the quality of workmanship. Reglued bridges repaired without cleaning out the old glue joins? Top cracks misaligned and "repaired" without cleats? Buzzing repairs that were "repaired" by relieving the truss rod and raising the action that way? Floating trems that were unbalanced and not re-intonated? C'mon guys.
    I had the unique perspective of seeing the work of GC repair techs that had charged good money for their "services" but I have to say there is evidently no QC when it comes to who gets hired. They also had regular conferences from regional heads who encouraged "step up" services that aren't needed but make a lot more money for the company. The management cared more for the money than the quality. I had a tech come in and ask for a job. What experience? Minimal, none professionally. His turnaround time on a trial setup was glacial and the work was way below par and he missed many points. Obviously we didn't hire him. But get this, a few months later, his work comes to OUR store: He was working at another GC.