Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

I have an idea for the construction of an electric archtop. But as I'm not a luthier I have no idea if it is a good one. So please give me some feedback.

How I came about it (skip that if you like):
    My experience with archtops is mixed: The first one I had (in the 80s) was an experiment by a local builder with a spruce top and rosewood back. It had a block under the bridge and was fairly heavy. Frankly, I can't remember the tone and all recordings were 4 track cassette.
    I played solid bodies and an Ibanez AS50 all through the 90s.
    Then in 2002 the Ibanez artcore series started and I bought a humble plywood AG75 – the poor man's george benson model. I love that guitar and did some of my best sounding recordings with it. I got involved with the online community archtop-germany.de (I'm a writer so I did some articles for them just for fun) and that fostered my interest in solid wood, carved archtops. Eventually I acquired an Eastman AR905 and started a jazz trio. The guitar sounds great on recordings and in rehearsals but is delicate in live situations as it feeds back very easily. I adjusted by *never* playing sustained bass notes – but eventually I was fed up with this musical limitation and got myself a telecaster which I played exclusively for the next ten years.