The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

I have a source for 120 year old spruce that was part of a tone box for a very old pump organ. It is just under 2” thick. Thought about making a Tele body out of one chunk. I’ve never worked with Spruce before and wanted your thoughts and feedback, even if you think it’s a bad idea. Hate to waste a piece of wood like this. Will be getting approximately a 2’ wide by 4’ long board.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I would go for it. Can’t see any reason why it wouldn’t work well and it probably has some decent mojo being so old and part of an old pump organ.

User Info Menu

Fender made many Tele bodies from pine, which is closely related to spruce.

User Info Menu

Seems like a waste of old spruce on a Telecaster body; pine is plentiful and cheap for that experiment. Spruce for a Telecaster won't sound appreciably different from pine. Bandsaw it into billets for tops for hollowbody guitars.

User Info Menu

I've built a couple solid bodies from chunks of spruce and have been pleased with the results. I'll second Jabberwocky's thought in that I look for the highest use of a piece of wood. If the spruce is exactly quartered, straight grain, no knots or other major defects like lots of run-out, then it might be re-sawn into several tops for archtops or acoustic guitars. If it's not fully up to these standards, then I would use it for solid bodies.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jabberwocky
    Seems like a waste of old spruce on a Telecaster body; pine is plentiful and cheap for that experiment. Spruce for a Telecaster won't sound appreciably different from pine. Bandsaw it into billets for tops for hollowbody guitars.
    I’ll tell you what, if it’s good, quartersawn spruce, I’ll list it for trade for a tele body

User Info Menu

I would guess it is not flawless and not quarter sawn. So go for it.