The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

I'm a builder of acoustic archtop guitars. I've sold a couple, but it's really just a hobby. I often hear that players' tastes are shifting toward smaller-sized instruments, like 16" or even 15" lower bouts. This makes sense to me for guitars that are going to be amplified, but not so much for acoustic archtops. I've built smaller ones, even a parlor-sized one, and they have a pleasant enough sound, but to me it's just not as full and rich as the standard 17". So I thought I'd ask what people here think - are you willing to sacrifice some of the sound of a larger instrument to get the smaller size?

Thanks,
    John

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There is a difference between guitars meant to be played amplified and those meant to be played purely acoustically. Duh! These days, purely acoustic instruments are very much in the minority, and most are used with pickups, either set or floating. Once you add a pickup, the pure acoustic sound becomes much less important. Smaller guitars are lighter, easier to play for most, and take up less space. This can become a factor if you fly with an instrument regularly. The best size depends on one's needs and preferences, and one size does not fit all. But I would guess that these days one size does fit most, and that size is smaller than it was in the early 1930s.

User Info Menu

For me 16' is the best solution, nice acoustic sound, comfortable to play and easy on the feedback. 17' are great, but they do give you more troubles when playing live, especially when the room is not ideal.

User Info Menu

Yeah 16" is comfortable for me sitting or standing
    only playing out electric tho
    my 16" lam has enough warmth for me
    (TI 13 flats with a bigger top string)

Thinking getting into some more modern sounds
    with a bit of grit , lighter strings , for a bit of bending etc