User Info Menu

I have a long history as an amateur luthier building and restoring instruments from 5-string banjos to button boxes, and old guitars but now considering having a go at an archtop guitar. I have Bennedetto's book and plans and am considering how to proceed.

I could pick up an oriental "kit" where the body and neck are already fabricated and only needs assembly and finishing - that is the easiest but is also the lest "hand built".

I could get CNC routed top and bottom and do the rest myself. Shaping the top and bottom are the most difficult but ends up being hand built.

Or I can start from raw material and do it all myself.

I still haven't decided - might end up doing a kit and then a from-scratch version (not that I need two archtops LOL!)

As a musician, I am an absolute beginner but I am trying!

Look forward to the wisdom of the group!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You sound like you have a perfect background for this adventure. Also, it’s quite common for instrument builders to have little to no experience as players. If you think about it, there’s not a whole lot of overlap of skill set between the two activities. I’m sure the forum would appreciate photo updates of the process. Good luck and welcome to the forum.
    Ignorance is agony.

User Info Menu

Go from scratch then you can say you really built the guitar. Do the whole guitar and finish yourself, otherwise it really is not completely yours as such. My late friend Bill Hollenbeck said there were 3 things on the guitar he did not build. The machine heads, the pickup if requested, and the strings........otherwise he fabricated and did it all even his own tailpiece design and inlay.
    specializing in repair and setup, does your guitar play like it should?

User Info Menu

Jump in... the water's fine!

User Info Menu