The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29
    I've been curious about ergo for a while, with back/shoulder stuff anyway. It's a general class of instrument that is pricing me out, with current life priorities though. Anyway, I also have a son who has been kind of fixated on this notion of lutherie. I've groaned and hem-hawed every time he mentions it, but looking at this instructables project today got me thinking that I may have a synergy/convergence opportunity with my family and my GAS/back-ache needs.

Has anyone looked into this? I was thinking easy and not too expensive, like a used squire tele for parts etc. I love my squier tele and would like something similar for a starting base. I have zero bench experience. I've built a chicken coop, a loft bed and some other things over the years which didn't really have to be "pretty", but nothing serious.

What do you think about something like this for a beginner project? How doable is this?
    $150 Custom Ergonomic Guitar

Says he didn't have any bench experience, but he was an engineering student. Anyway, he also linked this site as a resource: Building the Ergonomic Guitar: Guitar Designs. Ergonomics. Guitar Making.

Here's another one. Kind of the super nerd version of this type of project. Not even thinking about something that involved, but it looks cool:
    Design and Build a Custom Electric Guitar - All

Lawson's kit project has gotten me thinking about entry-level solutions to my kid's lutherie-fever. Appreciate your thoughts.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu