The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 85

User Info Menu

Has anyone here checked out any of the luthier-specific guitar shows? I’m an endorsing artist for Marchione guitars, and I do concerts and clinics from time to time. I’ve been at the Guild of American Luthiers convention in Tacoma a few times, and the Healdsburg Guitar Festival in northern California. I used to do the old Long Island festival, but I’m not sure that happens anymore. They can be a great opportunity to meet a bunch of luthiers and test drive their instruments. I’m not going to quit playing Stephen’s guitars, but I’ve seen some really great instruments from Tom Ribbecke, Linda Manzer, Ralph Novak and Mike Doolin as well. It varies, some luthiers have axes for sale, while others just have displays, but it can help anyone seriously looking for an instrument to make some informed decisions.

Another resource for those interested in a handmade guitar is CR Guitars in Rhienbeck, NY. It’s more of a boutique or a brokerage than a traditional guitar shop, but I think you can make an appointment and try out whatever is on hand. The owner Craig Snyder is as knowledgable about guitars as anyone, and can help steer you toward a luthier that would be a good fit. (And if you were alive in the 1970’s, you heard Craig on the radio with Elton John, Donna Summer, Ray Charles and more….)

If there’s a player you’re aware of that is playing a certain luthier’s axes. they can be a good resource. Most folks, myself included will be generous with their time (within reason) to help you on your quest.

PK
    Welcome to PaulKogut.com
    http://www.youtube.com/paulkogutmusic

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Gitfiddler