The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Hello all,

Glad to be here.

I'm looking to get over a mid life crisis, also to Buld my first Archtop.

I've been Studying the Benedetto Archtop Builder's Guide.,
    I must admit it's a little overwhelming all the techniques to learn. But I do have some woodworking ability and a Strong desire to learn and succeed.

Need advice... any advice on all and everything, Where to buy, What to buy
    as far as tools and luthier supplies. Select Woods.

I want to carve but I was wondering if maybe a 'kit' wouldn't be a better idea since I am new to Archtops.

Any Constructive advice will be gratefully appreciated..

Shawn

PS. what's the absolute first thing to buy? want to start slowly on a limited budget. Tools? Wood?

Sorry for this post I'm also kind of a scatter-Brain.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Welcome. Man, I wish I could even approach building an archtop. My hat is off to you. I'm not sure I could get past the first page of that book. I really wish I had those skills.

You have some great builders on here and some excellent threads following the construction of instruments, generally found in this section:

Guitar, Amps & Gizmos - The Jazz Guitar Forum

Some of the things I've seen people make are just awesome. Check it out, you can probably find some great help.

Thanks ..

I'll check them out.

yeah I've spent an hour in awe of the front cover alone. Got through the first few chapters last night, ashamed to say I've owned the book for more than a year, 'till finally the spirit has moved me to take action.

User Info Menu

Assuming you want to build an archtop, that means you probably have enough money to make it. I don't have much experience building acoustic guitars, but I've ran through some projects with solid bodies that give me a bit of an idea.