Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 9 of 9
    I have been playing maybe 8 to 10 years now. I am a guitarist and started playing bass out of need for a bass player. Anyway I use a Fender Okumeo how ever you spell it jazz bass. My bass for what ever you call that wood AFRICAN MAHOGANY. It has a real cool wood grain different from the rest. Anyway I started playing fretless a couple years ago and loved it. It was an old SX P with SD pickup. Stupid I sold it and boy do I regret it. I just the other day purchase a cheap Yamaha 5 string TRBX 305, to use in church why I don't know men need new toys I guess. Anyway I was thinking if the Yamaha works out I could make my Fender a Fretless. So would you make take the frets out of the old neck and I know what is involved, I had a friend who has done and is playing it. He did it to an old Fender Squire J bass sounds great. Myself I would like to have the lines it helps so laugh if you want, or would you buy a neck. A Fender MIM neck $199.00, SX neck with Fender like head stock $55.00 Mighty Mite $110.00 know lines. Are would you just pull the frets and fill the holes. I would show you a picture but my labtop quit and I am using my wife's Imac and I don't know how and I hate this thing. It will only let me use certain pictures and my bass is not one of them.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There's pretty much three approaches to getting there:
    a) Buy a fretless neck
    b) Yank the frets, insert wood veneers, plane & prep
    c) Grind the frets down but leave the tangs then prep
    Each method offers its advantages and disadvantages.

If you're not used to planing and/or prepping bass guitar necks you're probably best off buying a fretless neck and bolting it on. That way if you don't take to the fretless as much as you anticipate ("GAS") you are four screws away from getting back the bass you liked at the start.