Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

I've been playing upright bass for about a year now. Taking lessons (classical) and spending more and more time with the instrument learning my favourite jazz tunes. I've been playing guitar since I was 10 years old, and I still only do gigs on guitar, but I am really starting to love playing bass. Offcourse there is no real problem but it somehow feels like cheating on my first love... Anyone out there playing bass and guitar? How do you cope dividing your attention

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

well, you can expect a lot more gigs to come your way.......

User Info Menu

That's why I stopped playing bass. It's my favorite instrument, despite being a guitarist. It's really fun. I guess you could take a day to practice either instrument, and another day to practice the other, but you should play what you like. If you really like the bass more than the guitar, who's to stop you from taking up the bass as a main instrument?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
    well, you can expect a lot more gigs to come your way.......
    Old joke: teen goes for his first bass guitar lesson, and is shown the notes on the E string. At the second lesson, his teacher shows him the notes on the A string. When the student doesn't show for his 3rd lesson, the instructor calls him up to see what's wrong: "Sorry, I got my first gig!".

User Info Menu

I've been flipping back and forth between guitar and bass as long I have been playing, never played both at the same time. Not too far back I tried getting into upright bass and spend about a year playing it, but gave up on it maybe if I had started at a younger age, but it is an amazing sounding instrument and I love playing with a bow.

Yes get ready for lots of gigs.