Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17
    Hey there,

I have been playing the guitar for 5 years or so now and my friend and I decided that I get his 2nd bass for my 2nd guitar - at least for a while (I am mainly playing the guitar).

Now after playing a little without a real good technique, I wonder if anyone knows a good website or free pdf lessons or stuff, I know I should buy a bass method if I really want to play - but I'd like something "for free" at the moment to check out if I am willing to spend time on "the bass".

I am a real beginner at playing bass, so it would be great if someone knows a technique website or something similiar, so I can learn how to pick with my fingers.

Thanks

Julian

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Check the forum talkbass.com. Ask them for resources.

I don't know if you're just interested in jazz, but I spend a lot of time working out James Jamerson lines, and playing along with the recordings to get the feel happening.
    So I would say find a style or bassist you like and start learning lines.

Look up info on walking bass lines, and check youtube for lessons.

Well, I really enjoy Jazz. Okay, thanks for your tip. Any cool jazz bassists except James Jamerson I should know?

Thank you!!!

User Info Menu

I'll echo RyanM and say TalkBass is one of the best sites around for help on bass.

As far as guys to listen to, Jaco Pastorius is one of the most important electric bassists of all time. Arguably every jazz bassist since his death has been influenced by him. Victor Wooten, Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller, and Nathan East are also prominent jazz (some of them are fusion) players. Check out Wooten's Groove Workshop DVD once you've started getting bass technique down; it's helpful for anybody who plays a rhythmic role in music.