The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

Login • Instagram

I wish I was good enough to play solo jazz guitar, but, in the meantime, I have found some luck using a looper. I have been doing this since the middle of 2015 …my sets consist of mostly original ‘loop jams’, but I also play some John Coltrane, Miles, The Meters, Stevie Wonder, etc.

I am not going to turn the heads of accomplished jazz guitarists, but I definitely get repeat bookings at nice local venues as well as community events. I even got to open up for some cool acts such as Felix Pastorius and Hipster assassins as well as the Funky Knuckles.

I get that the looper is seen as gimmicky by some, and I respect that opinion…but, it’s really worked out for me.

Keeping things fresh can be a challenge, but I try to make each arrangement unique in some way - also, I switched to a Headrush Looperboard a couple years ago which allows me to run four independent loops of differing lengths. Starting the tunes with a different ‘layer’ each time can keep things interesting as well as adding and subtracting layers during the song - being able to lay a highly varied bass line under a short loop really helps things to not sound super mechanical and overly repetitive. When I play with my drummer we can vary things even more.

Also, in the clip linked above, please excuse my slightly out of tune high F string (I am a 4ths tuner) — this gig was super rainy/humid that went from really warm to almost chilly very quickly …totally messed with my tuning! It was lovely to sit out in front of a local art gallery and play for three hours though

Cheers folks!!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Very enjoyable!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by chasranney
    Very enjoyable!
    Thank you!

User Info Menu

Return bookings indicates you are doing something right. Keep it up!

User Info Menu