The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Any advice for playing with an accordionist? I've been playing in a guitar-accordion duo off and on for a couple years. We play a mix of styles, but jazz standards are particularly challenging because my partner is constantly comping, and his solos are an impenetrable wall of notes, so there's no opportunity to interact. I usually just plunk out chords every beat. Sometimes I can manage to play walking bass line if he stays off his bass buttons. Any suggestions?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by kpguitar
    Any advice for playing with an accordionist? I've been playing in a guitar-accordion duo off and on for a couple years. We play a mix of styles, but jazz standards are particularly challenging because my partner is constantly comping, and his solos are an impenetrable wall of notes, so there's no opportunity to interact. I usually just plunk out chords every beat. Sometimes I can manage to play walking bass line if he stays off his bass buttons. Any suggestions?
    Oh god one of those.

The problem is once they’ve learned how to do that there’s often no stopping them haha!

This is an exercise in headology and social skills methinks. That counts me out. Anyone?

User Info Menu