The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

So, I have a few venues that agreed to have me come perform (we haven’t decided on a date yet). I have played for years with other coffee shop bands but I’ve never done anything solo jazz before. My plan is to have a loop pedal (boss rc-3?) comping in the back with some melody over it, the venues are both some decently high-end restaurants and a few wineries. I have some old all-state recordings that I used as proof that I can actually play. I have one issue though, I don’t have enough songs, and I’m not in to jazz enough to just pull stuff out of my ass for an hour extra, so here’s what I have so far, if anyone has extras they may want to add that could go for at least 4 minutes, please let me know.

Autumn Leaves
    Confirmation
    Don’t blame me
    Dearly Beloved
    Days and Nights Waiting
    Always
    My favorite things
    3 of the all state etudes, two ballads and one swing
    Spring can Rally Hang You Up Most
    But Not For Me
    Black Orpheus

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Are you setting up your loops contemporaneously? If so some tunes with a shorter form might be nice. Sunny, Summertime. How about Stevie Wonder tune or two? Isn't she lovely works well as a loop. Beatles?

User Info Menu

I'd go for melodies your audience would recognize. On that list Autumn Leaves, My Favorite Things, and maybe Black Orpheus fit that criteria.

Confirmation is a lot of work for a tune that probably won't be appreciated by most (but my hats off to you for being able to play this on guitar). Beatles tunes is a great suggestion, Here There and Everywhere comes to mind as one that I have heard covered by jazz players.

Fly Me To The Moon is an example of a tune that many non-jazz listeners would recognize.

I think most everyone would love something like this

Last edited by fep; 11-23-2021 at 03:41 PM.

User Info Menu