The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

Hi everyone,

Something that occurs occasionally on gigs or jams is players throwing out rhythmic ideas that I quite simply don't understand. This is usually fine until it's the drummer or a guitar duet or something and the pulse isn't actually being played anymore. My instinct in these situations is to back my own sense of time and almost tune out what is happening around me otherwise I'll be thrown off or lose the form. The issue with this is that sometimes my sense of time isn't the same as everyone else's.

While I'm studying rhythm as much as possible to be able recognise more complicated rhythmic concepts (even if I don't use them in my own playing) I'm wondering if spending my energy simply improving my own sense of time is more beneficial? Or both?

I suppose to sum it up, how to you deal with live musical situations where you don't know what's going on?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It all depends on whether there's an actual groove or not. If everyone is counting to be able to play a difficult rhythm, there's likely no groove actually present in the music, which means you're not alone. For music to sound and feel good, you can't be counting rhythmic patterns in your head trying to not get lost while playing, you have to feel it. Very good players might be able to count through patterns and still sound ok, but it's tiring and the opposite of fun.

In my band we often did odd time signature originals, and trying to help a rhythmically challenged player by breaking down the rhythm and 'doing math' to get them to "feel" it never worked. The only solution was for the person to listen until they could feel it.

Just my .02¢

User Info Menu

Interacting with a jam session rhythm section can be frustrating, there's no one easy fix....