The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

Dear all,

I'm a bit confused. I've been playing guitar on and off for 25 years (sometimes nothing for years and then every day at least an hour). I'm involved in a Beatles tribute band where I play the parts of George, which is a role that suits me well. George wasn't a shredder, but a melodic interesting musician.

Anyway, I started playing jazz roughly a year ago and soon joined a jazz course combo, which I quit after a few lessons, because it was way too much and I felt like I was keeping the other up. This summer I continued and did a full week summer school course where I learned quite a bit (the prepping for it was the most useful though).
    After a few busy months with The Beatles band I found time for jazz again and I enrolled in Chuck Loebs online course. I may have rushed quite a few important elements, so I'm starting 'all over' again with Chuck. I also have a lot of ebooks from Matt that I use.

In two weeks I could enroll in a different jazz combo course, which is aimed at 'beginners', however some of the standards they play feel like they're above my level.

Long story short, my question is: should I wait with playing in a combo and work on a firm base of jazz, or should I join, maybe skip a few steps every now and then, or maybe only play on songs that I understand? When I join, I'm 'forced' to study a lot and I will learn a lot too. However, I don't want to learn jazz by playing tricks. I'd like to know what I'm doing. Your advice is much appreciated...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Quote Originally Posted by Joeontheguitar
    Dear all,