The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

Hey, I'm new!

I'm a jazz (atleast wannabe) guitarist, and I've spent this summer practicing everyday. I am confident and motivated when playing, and honestly feel I'm quite decent. I'm looking to get into an important jazz school (Esmuc, Barcelona) in June of next year. I'm currently studying at my local music school and have many great teachers.

I have a problem, though! I am terrified to play infront of my guitar professor. He is the nicest guy I know, but still I feel a crushing pressure when I have class with him. I'm really having trouble with this, as I can't show him what I'm actually capable of, and therefore he thinks less of my playing skill. In the long run, I fear might have the same problem when playing for the jury at the jazz school I'm hoping to get into.

I have no problem with a stage scenario. I've played live many times and have practically no stage-fright. I just feels like, when I'm playing in class, that my mind is concentrating 50% on playing, while the other 50 is focused on what he must think of my playing.

If anyone can help me I'd be very extremely grateful. If you can make me feel better by relating to my problem, I'll give you an online hug.

THAnks BTW JOE PASS IS THE BEST!!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Have you told the prof about that issue and asked for help or advice? I think crippling self consciousness is a learned script. There might be exercises to desensitize or replace with a more productive script. It would be nice if we could shut off all that self questioning crap at will and just focus on the music. I’ve made some headway, but I don’t perform in high-stakes situations.

User Info Menu

He is aware of it. It's not something I can easily hide.