The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

Kind of a fun, corny question. I've been doing gigs for 40 years, but in my first few rock/blues bands, we called public performing "playing out". How quaint. Even my own children starting in middle school jazz band called performances gigs....

So, quite often I see the term "playing out" used in the forum, and it brings back memories of rock bands and amateur status, no snobbiness intended at all. As so many guitarists start without jazz leanings, I actually think there is big tendency to use the term.

What do you call it??

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

To me, and I freely admit it's a very limited sample size, as well as experience, a gig is a paid job. I've done a few, but it was a long, long time ago. Playing out is playing somewhere outside home for fun, not for profit. I may be the only person in the world, or at least on the forum, with this opinion, and that's all it is.

User Info Menu

Looks like Steve Herron, in an article on George Benson, favored the term "playing out." Maybe he can chime in...

(Look down towards the bottom of the page where he gives a short biography)

Learn To Play Guitar With George Benson

User Info Menu

My first jazz group was while I was in the Army. To military people, a "gig" is not a good thing--we always called them bookings, appearances, or performances.

I say "playing out" to include rehearsals. Since we do formal concerts, dances, outdoor shows, and performances backing other entertainers, I tend to be specific about what we're doing if someone asks. On our weekly band email the leader calls them all "events."

Once the word "gig" referred any sort of job, it seems to have lost its meaning for players, jazz or otherwise.

Danny W.

User Info Menu

gigs

User Info Menu

In my way of thinking of it,