The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 35

User Info Menu

Hey players,

Don't slay me, but I need some advise on getting a 2 hour solo guitar gig up to speed. I'm an ocassional gigging amateur and I'm used to playing in a duo/trio/quartet setting -- maybe too used to it. I have an opportunity for a semi-regular solo gig, but I just don't have enough material or practice performing alone to cut it. But I am enthusiastic about making it happen. At this point, I can maybe scrape together 45 minutes solo. So I'm trying to figure out where best to put my energy in growing my solo set? It's a bar/wallpaper type of gig as opposed to on stage with critical listeners. Any advise (hoping for more than learn every tune backwards & forwards) is appreciated.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I would try and put as many improvised choruses in each tune as you can get away with, to get maximum mileage out of each tune. If it’s background then no-one will notice if you screw up the form a bit or wander off the chord changes or whatever. Vary each chorus a bit, e.g. maybe start with one rubato, then play the tune in time, then some comping, some walking bass, some single note stuff, then mix up all of the above etc. Doesn’t have to be Joe-Pass-level, just melodic, swinging, groove, etc. Whenever in doubt just revert to playing some of the tune again, with a bit of embellishment.

User Info Menu

What Graham said above is good advice.

But there's no getting around the fact that you are going to have to find the time every day to work on memorizing new solo guitar arrangements.

Just remember, it doesn't have to be a difficult or advanced arrangement that takes a lot of time and effort to learn and master - it just has to be an arrangement that sounds pretty. That's what the majority of people are looking for.