Jazz Guitar
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 50 of 97

Getting Gigs - HELP!!!

Now that I am retired from my day gig, I have more time to practice and gig. The big problem is how to promote myself. I have spent years honing my musical skills and have my share of gig experience, but I want to gig more. The talent I am not good at is selling myself. I am actually pretty lousy at it. I get side man gigs from time to time and I love doing it. My ego does not require me to be a feature or a front man. I can provide solo, duo, trio and full bands but I just don't know how to sell it. There are plenty of musicians who, frankly, aren't that great who gig all the time. What am I doing wrong? or what can I do better?

All suggestions are welcome.
    Eastman 810 7 string
    D'Angelico Premiere Double Cutaway with Stetsbar Pro II
    Cigano GJ 10
    Frankenstrat Controller With Midi Pickup For Vintage Roland VG8
    Roland Cube 60 amp
    Acoustic AG-30 Acoustic Amp

2. # ADS
    The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Where're you located? It's my experience having lived in a number of cities, that each place has its own culture of becoming a part of the scene. If there's one single thing that will guarantee getting calls, I can't imagine what it is.
    Do you want to do functions?
    What's your style, genre?
    Do you want to work small venues and explore creative music(s)?
    Are you a bebop player looking for a place to play standards?
    Is there a community of working musicians in your city? Do they know you?
    Have you considered finding a bass player to play duo with? Do you even want to play duo?
    How complete is your repertoire?
    How good is your ear as far as running the Real Book off book?
    What is the last gig you played with people who are working and enjoyed working with you? Give them a call?
    Have you connected with venues and booking people there and find out what they are interested in?