Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 13 of 13

User Info Menu

I recently contacted a local community jazz band. I am a beginner-ish player. My note reading is slow and sloppy. I was thinking that I could handle playing 4 to the bar type rhythm playing. And, I can. The contact said that they can get me a PDF with the songs.
    I can easily handle this if they're like Real Book notation. The chords above the bar. She says that the charts are arranged and that they just read straight down. Have I bitten off more than I can chew? I'm not sure that I know what that means "reading straight down".
    I know that I can play the chords and in something resembling in time. It's the reading part that has me questioning myself.
    Any insight?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You'll probably have to wait and see what you get.

If you get the full score, you'll get charts that show each instrument per line. The guitar part wilk have its own line separate from the others. Each instrument will have its own line per page. Typically the rhythm section (guitar, bass, drums, piano) will be grouped at the bottom of the page. So one song can be many pages.

Sometimes you'll get a "guitar book" or "rhythm section" charts which is a chart not unlike a real book chart that shows your part and key reference notes like a melody line, drum breaks, rehearsal letters, tacit sections etc. These help you follow cues.

As to what you will be expected to read, that kind of depends on the arrangement and the arranger. You will probably see mostly chord symbols for comping but there will occasionally be single lines where you are doubling another instrument or places where you will have "hits" or tacit sections where you have to count measures you sit out. You may have short parts where you are featured for a few bars. These are just some examples of what to expect.