The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 63

User Info Menu

Never been to a jazz jam session. I always notice how people suggest you learn about 10 or 20 tunes before you go to one. But how do I get there? I like to think I'm a jazzy guitarist and thats what my friends think too, but when it comes to standards I can't stand practicing just them all the time. I gave up on learning to play jazz guitar a couple of years ago, maybe it had to do with this attitude towards learning the tunes. Its only recently that I have learned to see the tunes as real songs and not something I must practice.

How do you keep it interesting after playing the same tune for long enough to know it very well? The tunes I know the best are getting really annoying to the point that I don't think I'd play them again in a long time, which reduces the amount of tunes I can play. Honestly, I don't think I ever know more than five jazz standards at any given time. Hahah, this is beginning to sound like a rant. Anyway, I like tunes that feel so good when I'm playing the melody or comping that I just cant possibly not play a great solo. How do you learn a tune without losing the soul in the process? I don't have this problem with any other music, just the standards
    Last edited by mokapot; 02-19-2017 at 05:11 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mokapot
    Never been to a jazz jam session. I always notice how people suggest you learn about 10 or 20 tunes before you go to one. But how do I get there? I like to think I'm a jazzy guitarist and thats what my friends think too, but when it comes to standards I can't stand practicing just them all the time. I gave up on learning to play jazz guitar a couple of years ago, maybe it had to do with this attitude towards learning the tunes. Its only recently that I have learned to see the tunes as real songs and not something I must practice.