The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

I realize Trad Jazz is sort of outside the norm for most of the topics here, but today, I attended the Sacramento Trad Jazz Society monthly meeting and jam sessions and had a blast. A great group of people! The problem: my Loar 600 would have been overwhelmed by all the horns, so I played plectrum banjo instead. However, I'm relatively new to banjo, and couldn't sight read all the charts fast enough to be in the groups that I would have liked to sit in with. It would have been simple if were playing guitar, but just not loud enough.
    I then thought about the Gretsch Honey Dipper.......Would it cut through? Anyone tried? I don't want to spend $500 to find out it doesn't.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

Let me define Trad Jazz as I heard it today: 2 trumpets, 1 clarinet, 1 trombone, sax, drummer mostly using sticks, tuba for bass, and the early pre-1930 arrangements. ---The piano was even a bit quiet for solos.

My previous band played early and mid 30s music, and my guitars were just fine. This was way more raucous than anything I've been in so far.
    Last edited by 10course; 09-13-2015 at 10:45 PM.

User Info Menu

Check for videos with John Reynolds on youtube.

User Info Menu

I think you will find that resonator guitars, like traditional acoustic archtops, project nicely, with much greater volume than you experience in playing position. They also provide something which banjos lack: sustain. You might have to alter your right hand technique to compensate for these factors, and occasionally massage your cheeks to relieve the cramping that the inevitable big ol' grin may cause, 'cause resonators are major fun!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Eddie Lang
    Check for videos with John Reynolds on youtube.