The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Does anyone else have this problem of changing from leading role (solo playing) to sideman role (comping)?
    I've been playing the guitar for about 10 years, 99% of it as a sideman. I guess it's expected from a guitar player to play comp for most of the time and solo when needed.
    But there's an error to me. I feel so naked all of the sudden when I need to play solo, although I'm prepared and I practice it daily. It probably sounds like playing solo wasn't my main thing (although I'd like it to be) and then I fail at it because I'm out my comfort zone (which is comping).
    I suddenly realized why in rock bands there used to be rhythm guitarist and solo guitarist. They're totally different points of view.

I have always envied vocalists or bass players for only having one job in the band - a solo line.

Don't get me wrong, I love having the ability to play the harmony - with it I can make music all by myself. I'm just wondering if there's some mind trick to switch between those two roles - leader and sideman. I'd like to go to a band and just say that I play solo guitar, so I'm not forced to switch my personalities during the song. But I doubt that I'd get any gigs with attitude like that...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There's a lot of common ground. We don't know what your comping is like so that transition really depends on what you're doing. What kind of music are you playing? More modern comping can be closer to soloing; more linear ideas and supporting accents rather than keeping the time on the beat. In other words, more space.
    If there's more space in your comping, and in the feel of the band, there may not be such a dramatic feeling of "dropping out" when you're taking your turn to solo.
    Might we hear some of what you do?