The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Over the past decade and half I've seen more and more groups of younger players show up at gigs with Real Books and then proceed to play the entire job with their heads buried in the book.

O.K., I've been working for over 40 years and I realize that makes me Old School to some but learning the tunes is required. The music has to be inside you. If you are focused on reading the music you're not focused on performing the music. Relying on a Real Book and reading the gig places an extra layer between you and the audience that shouldn't be there.

Imagine going to a rock concert or a country show and seeing the entire band with their heads buried in songbooks.

Admittedly, here are times when you have to play a reading gig but please understand I'm not talking about playing casuals. I'm talking about groups that I've repeatedly seen playing The Great American Songbook in clubs using the Real Book to get through the gig.

The groups that I see locally that have the largest followings and can pack a club are the ones who know the songs, walk on stage with their instruments, play their butts off and connect with the audience.

Learning the tunes and playing them from memory is an important step in preparing for the bandstand.

Regards,
    Jerome

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I say they're pretty brave. Or stupid. Fine line.

Personally, I have little desire to go out in front of people and play songs I dont know. Or at least, I like to do that as little as possible.

Maybe im old school too...but j think ypu kinda need to know a tune before you can really say something compelling over it...

User Info Menu

I played a gig a couple of weeks ago where the whole band, but me, was reading the Real Book. Terrible. Pure armatures and it sounded like it. It was embarrassing.

User Info Menu