The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33
    Longtime lurker, but I've been encountering something of late that I thought I might get everyone else's take on the situation.

I'm a somewhat established jazz guitar player in the metropolitan city I live in. I've been gigging here for the last 5-6 years or so, and nothing ever really took off until this last fall. I started getting more gigs than I've ever had in my career. 10+/month. After New Years, it slowed down a bit, but now I've had about 3 gigs in the last 3 months, 2 of which paid shit.

Keep in mind that I'm not a student still learning how this music works or how to play with other people. I'm not a douche to other players, I'm always professional, show up early, don't hog the spotlight, etc. I've got a tight group, playing my own material, a pretty broad knowledge of standards and a confident attitude towards playing. Now that you've got some backstory, let me begin.

Over the last couple months, I've made countless attempts to book gigs at the places I play regularly. They were perfectly happy to give my gigs in the past, but now I can't get shit for a response from any of them. It's like I'm blacklisted from the community or something. I look at all the other successful musicians in the city and most of them are getting calls from other people which is what's filling up their calendar. I very rarely ever get calls for any gigs, and most of the time, I'm left to find my own (which, if you read the paragraphs above, you would know that it's not working for some reason).

This has literally driven me to outbursts of rage in the last couple weeks as I see everyone else getting gigs at these places when I can't even get a response. Before you chime in with the "why don't you ask them how they got the gig" comments, I can tell you that I did just that, and my search for answers has been fruitless to say the least.