The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

Hi guys,

as some of you know I've been a pro classical guitarist for a long time. However, that was a previous life and after a pretty long time not playing at all I picked up the instrument again a couple of years back. Started playing pop/rock with some cover bands, but pretty soon aimed my arrows at jazz.

Last april I started taking lessons again and told my teacher that my aim was to be able to play along on one of the local jams before the end of the year. It's a session I attend every week, but I've not joined in yet.

So last Friday I felt that deadline approaching, took my guitar along and joined in for one song, the Yardbird Suite. I know the song well and can improvise to it well enough too (at least I don't get lost in the changes ).

Now for what happened: As the moment of my debut neared I got more and more nervous.
    There were appr. 35 people in the audience, most of whom I've never seen before at that particular session (probably because the regular band was away and the fill-in session leader brought his own crowd).
    When the moment was finally there I felt like running away, even though I really wanted to play!
    I got to play with a double bass player and a pianist. Nice guys. Good musicians too.

To cut a long story short: I didn't play very well! Even the head I played shaky. I was that nervous!
    I layed out a lot, which is not a bad thing in itself, but never felt like I was enjoying myself.
    It all sounded weird too (at home I don't have a piano player and a bass player accompanying me ).
    I could hear myself well, but through a haze of pumping blood. I couldn't focus on either the other guys or my own playing.
    The comping went well enough, but every single line I played, the head, my solo, if it sounded just like it felt it must have been painful to listen to...I certainly didn't make a very good first impression.