The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 53
    What do you do when you start to love the music that pretty much everyone else hates?

I've played over 20 years, studied some classical and jazz. I'm no virtuoso, but I guess I just mean to say that I have some conventional knowledge and technical ability, and am not drawn to free-jazz and other abstract stuff out of lack of ability to understand or play anything else. But I'm finding myself more and more drawn to weird, abstract, avant-garde improv styles.

It started some months ago, when preparing to record some solo chord-melody stuff, I spent some time running the tape and playing whatever randomness I came across, getting all the "wrong notes" out of the system and just becoming more comfortable playing in a studio setting. I listened back to these takes and found that I really liked some of them. And while they were all composed of random, senseless guitar-bberish, some takes were notably better than others. I couldn't explain it, it was just one of those musical epiphonies. And now, I can't stop. I'm not terribly interested in playing any other way.

So, what do you do with this kind of musical interest? It's kind of a small following. "Wanted: freaky atonal music with no discernable key or time signature for wedding reception" isn't something I see often in my local newspaper. How do you market this crap?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu