The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

View Poll Results: Do you play as a job or as a hobby?

Voters
419. You may not vote on this poll
  • Career

61 14.56%
  • Hobby

215 51.31%
  • I get paid occasionally/not full time musician

143 34.13%
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Posts 101 to 125 of 245

User Info Menu

I'm proud to be a hobbyist, I just enjoy playing.

I'm under no illusions about my level of ability "mediocre on a good day" and I've had plenty of humbling experiences when taking lessons with real pro players.

Just enjoy it.
    Guy
    Last edited by GuyBoden; 11-17-2012 at 09:24 AM. Reason: Just enjoy it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GuyBoden
    I'm proud to be a hobbyist, I just enjoy playing.

Just enjoy it.
    Guy
    +1 It's great to have a hobby that you have a passion for. For me when I join in with a group that wants to hustle for gigs, it seems to take away some of the joy and make it feel a bit like a job.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    +1 It's great to have a hobby that you have a passion for. For me when I join in with a group that wants to hustle for gigs, it seems to take away some of the joy and make it feel a bit like a job.
    Frank, if you're a hobbyist, then I'm one, too. I just think there should be a term for "guitar as zen" people, as this use of guitar, it seems to me, goes beyond "a hobby." I think there are at least THREE categories, but if we insist on just two, with "guitar as zen people" being hobbyists, then that's me. Hobby boy am I.

N.B. It doesn't have to be all jazz -- guitars are good for other musics just as well.

User Info Menu

Interesting results. I started teaching whilst doing a music degree and haven't looked back since, its developed from a small time local teaching gig, to an online site with worldwide students. So much fun

User Info Menu