The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 38 of 38

User Info Menu

what a great thread. Im not sure if anyone is still reading this, but I guess I thought Id share my experience. i started playing piano/keyboards at 24, although I had been a reasonable guitarist starting at 16. I was obsessed with the piano though, practising 3-4 hours a night. Sometimes more. At one point I took a year off going to music school where piano playing really came along. I also went to Musicians Institute in LA as well which was a really good experience. And thats where my playing really came together. But I hussled like HELL!!!. Answering any ad, meeting anyone I could. Emailing musicians/MDs that I admired telling them about me. Looking up CD sleeves, finding out who people were, and emailing them!! At 32 I found myself playing piano/keyboards in a London West End show which ran for a year, 9 shows a week, making a reasonably good living. Though I believe that was more due to my networking ability than a skill as a pianist. When that finished, I returned to the USA and made, or should I say eeked out an existence as a musician, mainly cover bands. I found myself making a bit of a name as someone who could play keys/guitar/bvs. Got some auditions for some major tours i.e. Rihanna/Katy Perry, never quite got that break. Im almost 40 now. I could probably still be making that living, but having a background as an Electrical Engineer, with the ability to make a reasonable living lured me back.

So yes it is definitely possible to become a pro later in life. I still sometimes contemplate going back to it, especially on days like today, when i am meetings listening to people going on and on about some rediculous database ID that nobody cares about!...hehehe

...but about becoming a "great musician"...now thats a different story...something I dont feel that I am good enough to comment on!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary