The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Posts 126 to 135 of 135

User Info Menu

Tl;dr I try to teach Barry harris

Sometimes I downplay certain aspects (like added note scales) to get started.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rintincop
    John Stowell, all melodic minor, yikes...

30 years ago when I studied for 2 years privately with Mark Levine he would have me play standards like Take The A Train and apply a melodic minor mode to every single chord in the form. He was especially good at block chording in MM. It became easy after a while to effortlessly play a MM mode on any chord. I drilled with flash cards at home, 7 cards for each of the 12 keys. Would mix them up randomly and then sight read them, also had all the wholetone scale and diminished/V7b9 chords as cards too. It worked. I never have to think about it now days, it’s automatic.
    scuse my ignorance!
    which mm did you play on the tonic (say C) ?

User Info Menu

Solo guitar study group for What's New here's the What's New thread. To make this on topic, you can use melodic minor or not

User Info Menu

which mm did you play on the tonic (say C) ?
    C major is definitely the starting reference but..........

You could use notes from Ab mm for a G7alt passing chord effect (V7 of I)

You could use notes from F mm for a Bb13(#11) passing chord effect
    (backdoor dominant)

You can also use A mm for a temporary brightening of tonic major with Cma9(#11).
    Similar to how lydian is sometimes used.

Probably wouldn't do any of this on a country and western ballad.
    Last edited by bako; 07-23-2019 at 09:56 AM.

User Info Menu

Christian,

Thanks for such a comprehensive answer.
    Do you teach basic major and minor scale harmonizations as a starting
    reference for key centers and progression labeling or is there another
    approach to cover that stuff as well?

User Info Menu