The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 84

User Info Menu

This could go in The Players section but as a beginner I thought the answers maybe useful to other beginners.

So many modern jazz players seem know music theory and the technical aspects of jazz out the wazoo. However I was interested in how technical the greats were? Of course their playing is amazing but for example how did Wes, Jimmy Raney, Grant Green, Tal Farlow and George Benson think when playing? Did they know every single arpeggio of every single chord, every single chord inversion, the technical names for chords? I can imagine someone like John Coltrane knew every chord inside out, but what about the guitarists? Did they endlessly practice, did they study music at school or university?

Interested to hear some thought!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I suspect what is missing with not so great players (like me) is that the attitude is slightly off. Driven by ambition mostly, not because the music itself asks for the attention all the time. Great players are then being obsessed in a good way and get to know the theory by heart and maybe not so much "verbally"? At least I remember a lot of good players say something like that.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Babaluma
    This could go in The Players section but as a beginner I thought the answers maybe useful to other beginners.