reneged on a recent resolve Not to buy
    more, I must lay the blame elsewhere,
    2b, Jabberwocky , and Vinny are equally
    complicit after dangling the carrot of
    temptation here.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Greg,

That L-4CES is a beauty. I didn't see the pictures until today. Wow, wow, wow. I think I finally have seen a L-4 that would make me swear off of ES-175 guitars. I'm a guy that passed up L-5CES guitars to purchase just the right ES-175 back in the early 80s, so this is a big deal.

Nice get on the "git."

User Info Menu

I just acquired a sweet 1989 L-4 CES Hutch guitar that needs some tuning up. I was looking for a 175, but this L-4 just felt like a higher class instrument against every 175 I compared it against. The only negative is the frets are so dang low and it’s taking a bit to adjust to the neck/scale. I’m new to L-4s, any insights from owners?

It Def needs a refret (stainless?), new tuners and pickguard. It also has a surface crack that needs sealing.
    Anybody know where I can get a black replacement pickguard, or a recommendation on replacement tuners that will match? Thanks in advance!

Gibson L-4 CES Owners-bc536202-775c-445d-ba07-4bc50f0c1f5e-jpgGibson L-4 CES Owners-ee6b5f4a-e370-4949-85a2-1a27dce60cc3-jpgGibson L-4 CES Owners-8a6fb0ff-e685-4fbe-81a8-acdf774de466-jpgGibson L-4 CES Owners-803ed6aa-e61e-48bd-998f-f8eb5fd79ea5-jpgGibson L-4 CES Owners-d01b8241-d409-4f17-bd92-4ce0e1254093-jpg

User Info Menu

Jescar EVO Gold frets would be killer on that guitar. I would go with those before stainless for sure.

User Info Menu

That "broken glass" pickguard is a Gibson original; not original to the L-4CES necessarily but original to Gibson. Gibson used it on the LeGrand and L5 Studio.