The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

View Poll Results: What Kind of Player Are You?

Voters
243. You may not vote on this poll
  • Full Time Pro - All Income From Music

28 11.52%
  • Part Time - Weekend Warrior

65 26.75%
  • Hobbyist - Never or Rarely Play Out

151 62.14%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 97

User Info Menu

I work full time in an unrelated field; I play guitar with most of my free time. I enjoy guitar and music more that justabout anything but I don't think I could ever do it for a living
    Last edited by omphalopsychos; 03-11-2017 at 09:27 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's 62 years of playing music here . One day I'll learn .

EZ;

HR

User Info Menu

Hobby'ist and Guitar tryer outer :-)

I just happen to like guitar gear and it became kind of a hobby to research it, play pedalboard and effects and all that. None of that is needed for music but it is fun to go after Gilmour or Johnson tones and all that 'boys and their toys' stuff. Presently I am in a 'Strat phase' and my wonderful archtops don't get played much. But that will change again, no doubt.

I also have a weak spot for technique related discussions and tend to watch the right hands of great players very closely (probably because mine is so bad). I thoroughly enjoyed Troy Grady's analysis despite all the show bizz stuff that surrounds it. Again, not needed for making nice music, but fun.

i play with a cover rock band. Couple of gigs a year. I study some jazz for my pleasure, for a while now mostly gypsy jazz. I am not into any kind of modern jazz and despite the fact that my daytime job is scientist, I do not enjoy over-intellectualizing music. I guess there is a personal feeling about how much theory is enough ... I found out for myself that I reach the 'enough' point relatively quickly. But give me a nice melody and I'll enjoy it for days

User Info Menu