The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 50

User Info Menu

Hey guys - pretty simple question. I want to start getting into doing more writing, and I know I need to join the 21st century and get some notation software. I'm a total newbie to this world.

I run a mac at home. I have a little Sternberg interface that I'm using to start some small recording projects, and I've just been using Garageband and iMovie for those. I also have a keyboard with midi.

My goals are to (1) make lead sheets for the tunes I regularly play in the keys I play them for when I want to play with other folks, (2) write lead sheets and arrangements for some things I'm writing, and (3) start keeping better records of my licks and exercises. So something that could do full scoring, lead sheet creation, and had some kind of built in guitar tab or chord charts would be awesome.

What would you guys recommend?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Sibelius or Finale generally. My experience is limited to Sibelius G7, a now legacy product I purchased for $60 or so onsale several years ago. Best software expense for the buck. I'm sure there are other options, but Sibelius is a good choice for your purposes. Not the expensive version - there is a starter version like mine that is more than adequate, unless you are scoring for orchestras, etc.

My Sibelius software is installed on a home PC desktop. I suppose I could install it on my MacBook laptop, but given that the software is 'old', I thought I would buy the newest inexpensive version for that purpose. There is a "learning curve" that initially can be annoying, but once you get the hang of it, you will love using it.