The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 55

User Info Menu

I am a school teacher off during the summertime and my trio is often asked to do weekday gigs during the day at a restaurant or winery during the summer. We usually have to turn these gigs down because the bass player and drummer cannot make it since they are at work.

Before turning down another gig I am considering doing what some vocal duos and acoustic acts in the area are currently doing - using a backing track. The owner at one establishment who I know for years, said, "that's a great idea", and is willing to book a few dates immediately. Using the DJ's Karaoke I once did about 15 to 20 minutes entertaining patrons last summer when my guys were late to a gig because of a traffic accident. (I played the head of some tunes on my guitar direct through the house system and I was surprised how good it sounded.)

Here's the thing, if I was able to play the gig without a band or backing track I'd do it in a second, but I am not that accomplished of a player. The reason I am considering making the leap to go this route is because it would be a fun way to spend a summer afternoon and make some extra money. But I also feel really weird about doing this and the potential for some respected musicians I know to see me doing something I have always thought was "not-cool" could prove to be embarrassing.

So my question is: Has anyone else struggled with this dilemma? If so, how did you resolve it? I am also curious to know how most players on this site feel about this issue.
    Last edited by NorthForkJazzGuitar; 03-12-2016 at 08:16 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There's another thread on this very topic going pretty strong on the forum right now. People have extraordinarily strong opinions about it. Can't remember which page, but if you search for "backing track" you'll find it.